Good Morning Starshine!

The Earth says hello!!!!

It’s about time i get my arse in gear and start writing again, after all, “inquiring minds want to know!” Said Reeta Skeeter always. Mind if I use a quick Quill?

Siri. All I can say is that she’s a lowsy friend. All she ever wants to do is ‘search the web for that’. It’s annoying. ‘Siri, do you have a memory?’ ‘I dont understand. Would you like me to search the web for that?’ Now come on, its a yes or no question, instead she feels like she needs to get on the net just to answer me. I suppose I got my wish, I said i just wanted to tell siri to ‘google that shit’….and now thats ALL she wants to do. I bet she’s doing it on purpose to spite me. -_-

I don’t really have much more to talk about, so I’m just gonna go into some reviews cuz I’m awesome like that.

First up is Cloud Atlas. Loved the movie, saved to my desktop. The book wasn’t TOO bad, but I honestly didnt care much for it. I think that this is the first time where i can say I’d honestly prefer the movie over the book. Its general theme is about how one’s actions in their lives can ripple across time and influence others. A smaller topic is that of reincarnation. Simply, its a beautifully done movie that really captures the two themes stunningly. And of course, makes me bawl like a baby at the end, just as any movie that has anything good in it will do.

For my book reviews, I have like, 3. But i’m combining two.

The first two are the first two books in Darren Shan’s new Zom-B series. The first is entitled, appropriately, ‘Zom-B’ and its sequel is ‘Zom-B Underground’. The first two books are clever and intruging, and as always, makes me squirm while I’m reading…yet Darren is such a captivating writer that I can’t stop reading…even as the creepy ass clown, Mr. Dowling, smile’s spiders out of his mouth…I would have died!!!!  I couldn’t stop itching after reading how the spiders crawled all over B. Ugh! Probably my favorite ‘recreation’ of zombies in Zom-B would be how their bones extend out of their fingers and toes. Not sure why, I just find it extremely fascinating. I had the pleasure of meeting Mr. Shan a few months ago now in New York City where he treated our small group to a reading from both Zom-B and Zom-B Underground….I read each book in a day, as I always devour Darrens books, and as I read the parts that he had chosen to read to us, I could just hear his voice echoing in my head…gave me the chills. Awesome!!!! 5/5 ‘Yummy Mummy’!

And the other review would be for ‘Parasite Eve’ which I’m currently reading. Not quite finished with it yet, but it’s extremely interesting! It deals with the evolution of humans and mitochondrial DNA, which I’ve always been fascinated by ever since learning about it in Biology. I have about 100 pages left to read and will hopefully finish by the weekend. So far though, I’d def recommend it for a bit of a scify read.

To conclude, I really DO plan on keeping up with this as i should. Its only the proper thing to do! And as a little bit of an added bonus, Imma talk just a smidge about my current writing project.

Set in a new, primitive desert world, the sun suddenly goes out, leaving all the inhabitants to speculate that something has happened to the sun god, Rasyn. A small group sets out in search of why indeed the sun has disappeared, and along the way encounters many obstacles (duh, without the obstacles, it wouldnt make for a very good read now would it?). But as the days pass, it seems as if the world itself is turning on our group as the weather starts to turn frigid and the clouds begin to fall from the sky. Will our heros discover where the sun has gone before it’s too late?

(I know, its a pretty generic summary, nothing too new or different in there, but in all fairness, i said a smidge. Not that i was gonna reveal all my secrets! Like a prostitute, a magician never reveals all their tricks!)

Wishing all the best and no burnt toast (unless you like your toast burn, then burn baby, burn!)
~SchizoSmiley

One Response to “Good Morning Starshine!”

  1. I forgot to throw in the community question today!!!! Oops!!!! Anyway, if anyone has read Zom-B’s who’s reading this, I wanna know what YOU like about Darren Zom-B’s. He’s kept with the traditional brain eating zombies we all love, but has successfully given them new life…pun intended. So what do you like about it????

Leave a comment